Florida Accident Laws Are Changing
The Florida Legislature is considering changing the minimum security requirements for Florida motor vehicle insurance policies. The House is expected to vote on a bill to repeal Florida’s no-fault auto insurance system. The Senate, in an overwhelming vote, approved its version of the no-fault repeal (SB 54). The bill would see the state eliminate the current requirement that drivers carry $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage and instead require they carry mandatory bodily injury coverage that would payout up to $25,000 for a crash-related injury or death, or $50,000 for multiple injuries or deaths.
Currently, Florida only requires drivers to carry bare-bones insurance. All Florida licensed drivers must carry “PIP” (Personal Injury Protection Insurance) in the amount of $10,000.00 and property damage insurance in the amount of $10,000.00. The PIP insurance covers the driver’s own injuries and lost wages caused by a car crash, without regard to who is at fault.
If the bill is passed, Florida would go from being a no-fault state to a tort state, in which at-fault drivers in a crash are responsible for paying the other driver’s medical expenses. The at-fault driver would also pay for additional damages, such as loss of wages and “pain and suffering” whose definition could be broader now that there would be no limit as to the amount one could sue for and be awarded in a lawsuit. Insurance companies under the new law would be able to offer medical payments coverage with limits of $10,000 with a deductible in order to cover medical expenses of the insured, plus they can offer other policy limits exceeding $5,000 and may offer deductibles up to $500.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles posts the current insurance requirements: Before a person registers a vehicle with at least four wheels in Florida, they must show proof of PIP protection and Property Damage Liability (PDL) automobile insurance. PIP covers 80% of all necessary and reasonable medical expenses up to $10,000 resulting from a covered injury, no matter who caused the crash. PDL coverage pays for damage to another person’s property caused by the insured or someone else driving their vehicle.
According to the Insurance Research Council, Florida is the sixth-worst state with the most uninsured motorists — a whopping 20.4%, or one out of five while for those who are insured, they are paying the highest premiums in the nation, according to MarketWatch data.
Now, more than ever, you need to have the right attorney and medical team on your side to get you what you deserve! If you’ve been injured through no fault of your own, call 1-800-411-PAIN and get the help you need! We will refer you to the attorneys that will fight to get you the compensation you deserve and the medical attention you need. If you have been hurt in an accident, call 1-800-411-PAIN, and we will guide you in finding you the best medical and legal professionals.