The Craziest Laws in Florida and Georgia
Have you heard of Georiga’s inherent risk of llama activities” statute? Or Florida’s law that says it’s illegal to skateboard without a license? All states have some uniquely weird laws that will make you laugh and wonder how they came to be. Let’s take a look at some of Florida’s and Georgia’s wackiest laws.
- In the city of Cape Coral, Florida, a person can be fined $50 for keeping a couch underneath their outdoor carport.
- It’s illegal for women to fall asleep under a hairdryer while at a hair salon.
- If you plant a flower in a pot without a drainage hole, you have created a public nuisance.
- All doors to public buildings must open in the outward direction
- It is illegal to sing in a public place while attired in a swimsuit.
- A special law prohibits unmarried women from parachuting on Sunday or they shall risk arrest, fine, and/or jail.
- In Cape Coral, Florida, it is illegal to park your pick-up truck in front of your house or in your driveway.
- If you hit a pedestrian with your car in Sarasota, Florida, you only have to pay a $78 fine.
- It is illegal for a man to wear a strapless formal gown in public.
- It is illegal to break wind after 6:00 p.m.
- In Atlanta, it’s illegal to shout, whistle, or hoot on public streets or sidewalks at a volume that can be heard 100 or more feet away.
- According to a Gainesville proclamation passed in 1961 designed to promote Gainesville as a poultry center, it’s illegal to eat fried chicken with a fork.
- You cannot live on a boat for more than 30 days during the calendar year, even if just passing through the state.
- In Athens-Clarke County, goldfish may not be given away to entice someone to enter a game of bingo.
- In Acworth, all citizens must own a rake.
- It’s illegal to wear a hood in public in Dublin, Georgia.
- If the sheriff impounds a milk cow or milk goat, Georgia law requires someone at the sheriff’s office to milk the cow or goat 2 times per day.
- Bars are prohibited from having “ladies nights” in Columbus.
- No one may carry an ice cream cone in their back pocket if it’s a Sunday
- While the Georgia State Assembly is in session, no member of the Assembly can receive a speeding ticket.
If you or someone you know is the victim of a car accident, call 1-800-411-PAIN and get the help you need! We will refer you to the attorneys that will fight to get you the compensation you deserve and the medical attention you need. If you have been hurt in an accident, call 1-800-411-PAIN, and we will guide you in finding you the best medical and legal professionals.